Fuel Oil News

Fuel Oil News - Jul 18

The home heating oil industry has a long and proud history, and Fuel Oil News has been there supporting it since 1935. It is an industry that has faced many challenges during that time. In its 77th year, Fuel Oil News is doing more than just holding

Issue link: https://read.epgmediallc.com/i/996557

Contents of this Issue


Page 17 of 51

18 JULY 2018 | FUEL OIL NEWS | www.fueloilnews.com T he Eastern Energy Expo featured many educational and techni- cal sessions covering all manner of subjects, but what were the takeaways? That's the question many people ask themselves after they've attended a trade show. They are too many to describe in the limited space available here, but on this and following pages we relay some of the information and advice that was on offer at the Foxwoods Resort and Casino in Mashantucket, Conn., during those days in late May. Meanwhile, think about attending next year's event. The Eastern Energy Expo and the OESP Awards Banquet return to Hershey, Pa., in 2019. OILHEAT-BIOHEAT FUTURE: HOW DO WE MOVE FORWARD? NORA's president, John Huber, Research Director Dr. Tom Butcher and Richard Sweetser, senior advisor on research, described a vari- ety of research and development projects the Alliance is pursuing. These include: field sampling of home tanks to evaluate fuel "health" Detailed studies of the impact of copper on storage stability Eastern Energy Expo & OESP 65th Anniversary Awards banquet From left: Bob Daros, Heritage Fuel & Propane, Croton Falls, N.Y, chair of the OESP awards committee and Matt Spink, Platinum Energy Group, East Meadow, N.Y., on stage with OESP honorees Brian Rooney (on behalf of his father, Kevin Rooney, longtime CEO of the Oil Heat Institute of Long Island, Hauppauge, N.Y., and winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award); Orvil Boatswain, Bronx Design and Construction Academy, Yonkers, N.Y., Instructor of the Year; a represen- tative of Webstone, a brand of Nibco, Worcester, Mass., named Manufacturer of the Year; Rick Pothier of EDOS Inc., Dayville, Conn., named Lou Ehrich Memorial Associate of the Year; Dan Auciello of Petro, Holtsville, N.Y., named Service Manager of the Year; Alan Mercurio, Oil Tech Talks, Connelly, Conn., winner of the Hugh W. McKee Memorial Award; Paul Cuprewich, Woolley Fuel Co., Maplewood, N.J.; and George Perrelli, F. Perrelli & Sons, Inc., East Haven, Conn., winner of the Executive Board Award. PHOTO BY KEITH MUCCILLI By Stephen Bennett

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Fuel Oil News - Fuel Oil News - Jul 18